Winter trees

  3 comments for “Winter trees

  1. December 2, 2014 at 6:11 pm

    This is a fabulous image. How did you create the texture in the background?

    • davidcollinsfoto
      December 2, 2014 at 7:05 pm

      Thanks Jane. I don’t use Photoshop much since getting Lightroom 5 but thought I ought to do a bit of experimenting with it. I particularly wanted to practise blending two images together and the image was the result. I took the tree branches at Ullswater in the Lake District so I was thinking about a blend of the branches with a water image. My first attempt was to take an image of the swimming pool (light blue tiles and water ripples) and use that as the background but it didn’t work. I didn’t like the colours and it was too recognisable so it distracted too much from the branch shapes/lines. Next I took a photo of the tiled area around the house (the tiles are lightly textured, light tan and quite uniform in colour although there is some variation across the tile) and this worked much better as a background. I combined both images together in Photoshop and tried different blending modes. The ‘linear light’ mode gave the image the look of a forest fire (red, yellow, orange colours against the silhouette of the branches) but I preferred the ‘overlay’ blending mode which worked better for the effect I was looking for – a sort of Winter, eerie, mystery feel.

Leave a Reply

Do F

photography and journal

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

angelawolffdesigns

Nature & Still Life Photography

Lerpy's Photography Log

OCA Level 2: Documentary

Photography Martin

A blog about pursuing my passion for photography

Learning Log - Robert Burton

Learning log for the studies, research and progression on the OCA-UK Degree path for Photography

