Looking into Padley Gorge

  4 comments for “Looking into Padley Gorge

  1. January 21, 2015 at 7:33 pm

    Wow, I recognise this from the summer version but doesn’t it look different! There’s almost a plastic feel, as if the foliage in the foreground is imitation and in the background it is a stage set. A very interesting affect. The colour is also striking and as if you’ve painted a black and white image. The textures and silvery feeling reminded me a bit of the work of Alan Henriksen http://www.alanhenriksen.com/index.html
    Hopefully you can catch the scene with some frost – this would also be interesting.

  2. davidcollinsfoto
    January 21, 2015 at 9:21 pm

    Thanks Jane. The image is part of my continued experimenting with blending two images in Photoshop using a photo of a light tan coloured floor tile and a number of tree dominated images. This one was created by using the hue blend mode at 100% opacity. I liked the way it replaced the greens with a colour scheme that seems consistent with an autumnal scene.

    I’ve also printed it on Permajet Titanium Lustre paper which has a metallic sheen that reinforces the textures and silvery feel. On the print the narrow leaves in the foreground almost look like they are made with magnetic recording tape. It works really well. It’s the first time I’ve used the Permajet paper but I’ll be ordering more.

  3. February 4, 2015 at 10:59 am

    Wow what an amazing image. I felt like I was falling into the scene when I first saw it. Your technique described in the comment above sounds fascinating also.

    • davidcollinsfoto
      February 4, 2015 at 11:38 am

      Thanks Selina. I’m going to keep documenting the Padley Gorge area in Derbyshire, England. Not sure I’ll keep going down the blending approach with it. Might stick with the green colour scheme of the originals because it is so rich, either way I’m going to enjoy further exploration of the area.

      ps I think your environmental-related assignment project seems to be coming together well. David

Leave a Reply

Do F

photography and journal

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

angelawolffdesigns

Nature & Still Life Photography

Lerpy's Photography Log

OCA Level 2: Documentary

Photography Martin

A blog about pursuing my passion for photography

Learning Log - Robert Burton

Learning log for the studies, research and progression on the OCA-UK Degree path for Photography

