View from a balcony

 

Sometimes a sunset can be such a subtle blend of colours. This photo tries to capture the sense of quietness at the end of the day as I look out over the sea. The island of Mallorca and beyond that Africa lying in wait beyond the horizon.

I did struggle a little deciding whether to post this image because the sRGB colour space, which is used by Wordpress and Facebook, just can’t reproduce all the subtle colour variations I can see in the Adobe RGB colour space. In the end I decided to post it anyway and wait to see it in its full suit of colours when I produce it as a print.

  2 comments for “View from a balcony

  1. July 2, 2017 at 5:29 pm

    When I saw this image I was very much struck by the colours. It reminded me of the works of Hodler (Swiss Artist) who captured lake scenes and in his later works focused mainly on colour paring down to bands of colour. Some of his images of Lake Geneva capture these subtle purples and pinks beautifully. You can see many of his images on Wiki art https://www.wikiart.org/en/ferdinand-hodler

    • David Collins
      July 2, 2017 at 6:07 pm

      Thanks Jane. I like Hodler’s work. My favourite is ‘The Beech Forest’ (Bois de Frères) which fits with my own interest in woodland landscapes but I think his lake photos are more evocative because of the way he uses colour in many of them. Thanks again for finding time to make a comment. David

Leave a Reply

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

angelawolffdesigns

Nature & Still Life Photography

Lerpy's Photography Log

OCA Level 2: Documentary

Photography Martin

A blog about pursuing my passion for photography

Learning Log - Robert Burton

Learning log for the studies, research and progression on the OCA-UK Degree path for Photography

Susanne's Landscape Blog

An OCA learning blog

